Faculty of Geosciences
print

Links and Functions
Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

Master Geophysics

The Master’s degree program Geophysics is a research oriented degree program that offers an in-depth exploration and individual specialization within Geophysics, as well as an innovative interconnection of various scientific disciplines. In addition, the degree program allows for an orientation in the field of modelling and simulation. The degree program is therefore aimed at BSc’s from the faculty of Geosciences, as well as students that have a Bachelor degree in other fields of natural sciences, or in the field of Mathematics and Engineering.

The degree program is organised in modules and internationally oriented, which means that the courses are given in English (as required). The program is divided into four semesters and students can choose from three in-depth studies: Geodynamics, Seismology and Paleo- and Geomagnetism. On graduation, the academic degree of Master of Science is obtained, which replaces the Master’s degree of the previous degree program Geophysics.

The master’s degree program Geophysics is provided since winter semester 2007/08 and is a joint degree program of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität and the Technische Universität München within the framework of the Münchner GeoZentrums. Since a major part of the courses is provided by the Faculty of Geosciences of the LMU, the LMU is in charge of this degree program, which means that the registration procedures are managed by the LMU.

The registration requirements are divided into a technical part and a language part:

  • A requirement for registration is a bachelor degree or equivalent with an average note of 3,0 or better in a degree program of at least six semesters in Geosciences, Geophysics, Mineralogy, Geology, Physics, Biology, Mathematics, Engineering or related studies.
  • Since the program is internationally oriented, proven sufficient knowledge of English is also required.

Please note that upon registration at the students’ secretariat, a proof of fulfilment of the admission requirements (in accordance with the examination regulations) is to be handed over. This proof can be obtained from the examination committee Geophysics.

More information can be found here.

Fakultät für Geowissenschaften
print

Links und Funktionen
Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Master Geophysics

Der Masterstudiengang Geophysics ist ein forschungsorientierter Studiengang, welcher eine Vertiefung und individuelle Spezialisierung innerhalb der Geophysik sowie eine innovative Vernetzung verschiedener naturwissenschaftlicher Fachrichtungen gestattet. Der Studiengang erlaubt daneben eine Ausrichtung auf den Bereich Modellbildung und Simulation. Damit richtet er sich neben Bachelorabsolventen aus dem Bereich Geowissenschaften auch an Personen, die einen Bachelorabschluß in anderen naturwissenschaftlichen Fachrichtungen, oder auch im Bereich Mathematik und Ingenieurwesen erworben haben.

Der Studiengang ist modular organisiert und international ausgerichtet, d.h. Lehrveranstaltungen werden (bei Bedarf) in englischer Sprache angeboten. Er ist auf vier Semester ausgelegt und erlaubt die Wahl einer der drei Vertiefungsrichtungen Geodynamik, Seismologie und Paläo- und Geomagnetismus. Mit dem Masterabschluss wird der akademische Grad Master of Science erworben, der den Diplomabschluss im bisherigen Diplomstudiengang Geophysik ablöst.

Der Masterstudiengang Geophysics wird seit dem Wintersemester 2007/08 angeboten. Es handelt sich um einen gemeinsamen Studiengang von Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität und Technischer Universität München im Rahmen des Münchner GeoZentrums. Da der größere Teil der Lehrveranstaltungen von der Fakultät für Geowissenschaften der LMU angeboten wird, hat die LMU die Federführung bei diesem Studiengang, d.h. insbesondere, dass die Immatrikulationsangelegenheiten von der LMU geregelt werden.

Die Immatrikulationsvoraussetzungen gliedern sich in einen fachlichen und einen sprachlichen Teil:

  • Voraussetzung für die Immatrikulation ist ein Bachelor- oder gleichwertiger Abschluss mit einer Durchschnittsnote von 3,0 oder besser in einem mindestens sechssemestrigen Studiengang der Fachrichtung Geowissenschaften, Geophysik, Mineralogie, Geologie, Physik, Biologie, Mathematik, Ingenieurwesen oder eines verwandten Faches.
  • Da es sich um einen internationalen Studiengang handelt, müssen desweiteren hinreichende Englischkenntnisse nachgewiesen werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass bei der Einschreibung im Studentensekretariat der LMU eine Bescheinigung über die Erfüllung der Zulassungsvoraussetzungen (gemäß der Studien- und Prüfungsordnung) vorgelegt werden muss. Diese Bescheinigung erhalten Sie vom Prüfungsausschuss Geopyhsics.